NEW Vichy Normaderm Tri-Activ Anti-Imperfection Hydrating Care

Vichy Normaderm Anti-Imperfection Hydrating Care is a product that boasts sales of 20million units worldwide* since 2003.

I have dry/combination skin in general but I do experience hormonal breakouts especially cystic acne on my forehead and chin usually once/twice a month. This is an issue that has been bothering me for a few years now so I am constantly in search of a good anti-acne treatment range that can help minimize these breakouts or at least speed up the recovery process. Imagine my pleasure and glee when I was introduced to the new Normaderm Tri-Activ Anti-Imperfection Hydrating Care which claims to do all that I want my current anti-acne skincare range to!

Now, we are all swamped by the countless anti-acne products and treatments offered by most (if not all) skincare brands that we can find in local drugstores, and I know how disappointing it is to find out that a product does not work the way it claims to be. So, what makes the new Vichy Normaderm Tri-Active Anti-Imperfection Hydrating Care stand out?

Research done by Vichy Laboratories had shown that 3 out of 5 Singaporean women suffer from oily skin and blemishes, and that includes imperfections like outbreaks, dilated pores, redness and shine.

Vichy’s Expertise:

An exclusive discovery was made, and that is to transform imperfection-prone skins into healthy and beautiful skin. It does not mean targeting the sole treatment of imperfections, but treating the skin as a whole, focusing on both a matte finish and hydration.

Vichy’s Solution:

1. Hydra-Peeling Technology

  • 0.14% Lipo-Hydroxy Acid
  • 0.5% Salicylic Acid
  • 0.175% Glycolic Acid

2. Total Anti-Shine Active Ingredient

  • Silica (for oil absorption)

3. 24-hr Ultra-Hydrating Texture

  • Patented formulation of structuring gelling agents: 2% increase in glycerin

*IMS Pharmatrend, Europe 8, sales in units for the year 2009, GERS data -12/-2009

The Normaderm Tri-Activ Imperfection Hydrating Care is a facial moisturizer meant to help recover healthy skins by using a patented Hydra-Peeling Technology that is inspired by dermatological peeling.

  • Includes an unprecedented association of Lipo-Hydroxy Acid + Salicylic Acid + Glycolic Acid for action on 100% of the epidermis.

(click to enlarge)

Proven Results* on Asian Sensitive Skin:

2 weeks to see a significant reduction in inflamed lesions and black/whiteheads. It is even mild enough for sensitive skins and helps with reducing redness and sensitivity.

*tests done on 52 Chinese women with acne-prone oily skins


We were each given the following to try:

Anti-Imperfection Deep Cleansing Foaming Cream:

  • enriched with salicylic acid which thoroughly eliminates impurities, dead skin cells and excess sebum
  • visibly tightens pores, leaving skin purified, smooth and comfortable

My Thoughts:

This is a very basic cleanser that foams generously, forming a cushiony lather that makes cleansing a very comfortable process. Skin feels thoroughly cleansed after that. It does leave my skin a little tight but I experience this tightness with most foamy cleansers.

Purifying Cleansing Gel:

  • double purifying and anti-irritant action
  • cleanses and purifies pores while removing impurities
  • effectively controls shine

My Thoughts:

A gel cleanser that lathers and foams easily. It does dry my skin out a fair bit when I used it, so I reserved this for days when I feel exceptionally grimy and oily. I don’t foresee myself using this regularly because of the tightness that I experience after cleansing, but I can see people with tolerant and oily skins loving this because this really makes your skin feel squeaky clean. For normal/combination skins, try the Foaming Cream instead as that is less drying.

And lastly, the star product of the series!

Tri-Activ Anti-Imperfection Hydrating Care:

  • patented Hydra-Peeling Technology that targets and reduces acne, blackheads and redness
  • instant and long-lasting shine control
  • 24-hour hydrating gel-cream texture that is fast penetrating and easily absorbed

Price: $39/50ml, $19/30ml

My Thoughts:

I don’t exactly have oily skin. In fact, I battle skin dehydration most of the time. I do face hormonal breakouts though, and this occurs once a month. Therefore, I always have a set of anti-acne skincare range on hand and I will use them during “that time of the month” where I’m more susceptible to breakouts.

I have been using this both day and night in place of my regular moisturizer and I am super pleased. Upon application, this is a very lightweight gel-cream that absorbs really quickly to a matte finish. It also has a very “manly” scent which bothered me initially but now it’s starting to grow on me. It is sufficient to keep my skin hydrated during the day. It is also paraben-free and hypoallergenic – perfect for people with sensitive skins.

However, I find this moisturizer provides insufficient moisture for me at night especially when I spend most of my time sleeping in an air-conditioned (read: drying) environment. Therefore, I like to apply this in the evenings when I come home from work, and apply another generous layer of my regular moisturizer on top of this before I sleep. This helps to replenish and retain moisture in my skin throughout the night.

After a week, I saw a reduction (it wasn’t significant but it was there) in redness around my nose and cheeks so much so that my boyfriend noticed. There were some tiny pimples that formed when I started using the moisturizer but they went away quickly.. So I attributed that to the initial purging process. I did not see any reduction in my blackheads unfortunately :(

Overall, I am very impressed with the quality of the moisturizer. Both cleansers are good to haves but not absolute must-haves. This Tri-Activ Anti-Imperfection Hydrating Care is definitely a godsend to acne-prone ladies out there who are seeking a more affordable option that actually delivers what it promises.

Disclaimer: These products were given to me for review.

I had tried these products over a duration of approx 2 weeks in order to give a review that is proper and as accurate as possible. The opinion is wholly my own and is not influenced by any companies in any way.


Posted on 29/05/2011, in Skincare and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’ve been looking for the Tri-Activ Anti-Imperfection Hydrating Care in the store but it’s been sold out.. I really wanna try this, esp since I have rly oily skin

  2. i’ve tried the old version of the moisturizer before, it smelled so nice!!!

  3. I would like try your recommendation. Seem a good product for oily skin.
    Btw i also like to intro a good product which is cheap and good to use.
    Pharmaskin Exfoliating Cleansing Foam(papaya enzymes) selling at $7.90 SGD can be purchase at http://www.yumtrade.com. No harm trying it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

