BB Creams / Drugstore Series: Maybelline Clear Smooth BB Cream SPF 26/PA+++ #01 Fresh

Have been truly busy!

But I have recently bought and tried the Maybelline Clear Smooth BB Cream after reading a lot about it on forums and blogs. It was going for $2-$3 off at Watsons so no harm picking up a tube to try, right?

It came housed in an attractive (by drugstore standards) sturdy cardboard package.

It also boasts of containing 8 healthy minerals such as copper, zinc, magnesium, sodium, titanium and 3 iron oxides and helps with hydration, skin elasticity etc etc.

What’s a BB cream if it doesn’t claim to do all that?

The product comes in a nifty little 18ml tube. 18ml, seriously?

swatch: #01 Fresh

taken with flash

I was really quite impressed when I first swatched the tester tube at the back of my hand, which prompted me to buy the tube home. The back of my hand looked and felt even-toned and I could barely see any lines.

5 hours of wear

As you can see, I’m starting to oil a teeny bit on my forehead and nose but it’s nothing serious.

10 hours of wear

I did not do any touch ups along the way just to see how long this BB cream could stay on. If you take a closer look (click on the images), the BB cream is wearing off on areas around my nose and upper lip where I am usually more susceptible to perspiration. It also started to look slightly patchy around my eye areas.

Nonetheless, it seems to give me a nice glowy sheen without looking greasy.

My thoughts:

This is a good BB cream for the price as I think that the oil control is good enough. It is not as dewy or glowy as moisturizing BB creams but it does give a semi matte finish after applying. The #01 Fresh shade also matches my skin tone perfectly but I think it’d be too dark for those lighter than MAC NC20. I am also very surprised by how long-lasting this is and how natural this looked on my face.

Best for:

People with dry/normal skins who like sheer coverage foundations. This does not have fantastic coverage but it does a good enough job of evening out skin tone. Coverage may be buildable but I wouldn’t bet on it. Fantastic colour match too. Doesn’t leave a white/grey cast at all upon application which was rather surprising.

Not good for:

People who dislike sheer finishes. This gives sheer to medium (at most) coverage. Not good if you have a lot to conceal. You can always top up with 2way cake foundation or liquid foundation but I personally find that too heavy for daily use. I personally think this degree of coverage is sufficient for school.

Would I repurchase?

In my opinion, this is a good staple to own but I’m always in search of new things to try so no, I probably will not repurchase once this runs out.

Price:

$13.90/18ml (RP: $16.90)

Posted on 22/08/2011, in Beauty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Looks good! you make me wanna get a sample :P
    the swatch on your hand really looks so different and brightened.

  2. idk why people talk so much smack about drugstore products. i was so exited to see your review because youre the first person i see review this products and then you had to say “It came housed in an attractive (by drugstore standards)…”really? it makes me very angry to see people try to be mean to drugstore brands. idk if you know the difference between a high end brand a drugstore brand is that for a high end brand youre basically paying for packaging that says the brands name. thats it. ive found many drugstore cosmetics that are far better than any high end brand ive tried,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

