Drugstore Series: Maybelline Mineral BB Mousse

In my previous entry, I mentioned about the arrival and sale of the Maybelline Mineral BB Mousse at Watsons.

CLEO Maybelline Special

The mousse is housed in a metal can and comes with a nifty pump that helps to dispense the appropriate amount of product. Reminds me a lot of the Shu Uemura UV Underbase BB Mousse (which coincidentally had undergone a revamp this year).

Both products also contain SPF30/PA+++.

freshly pumped out 

after 10 seconds

The oxidation rate for this product is awful, it oxidizes to a dark orange barely after 10 seconds. But somehow the product manages to eventually blend in with my skin colour without much rubbing in.

This is less than a fifth of a full pump and you can see that there is more than enough product for application on the entire face.

A drugstore look I did using the Maybelline Mineral BB Mousse, 5 hours of wear (in air-conditioned environment):

Face: Maybelline Mineral BB Mousse, Amazing Cosmetics Concealer – Light Golden

Cheeks:  NYX Mosiac Powder – 01 Highlighter, Milani Baked Blush – Luminoso

Eyes: ZA Impact Lash Mascara – Volume, Topshop Mousse Eyeshadow – Glint, NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil – Milk (browbone highlight), Silky Girl Long-Wearing Eyeliner – 02 Black Brown

My thoughts:

Reminds me a lot of the Shu Uemura UV Underbase (I have only tried it in pink) in terms of texture, blendability and application. I didn’t like the Shu because the pink tint was odd on me and it was way too drying. There is also a need to blend one area at a time because it dries fast. Do not attempt to work on multiple areas at one go because the result will be cakey and streaky.

The Maybelline one is drying too, since it dries down to a satiny-matte finish. As such I was able to skip setting powder altogether. Coverage is sheer to medium with buildable coverage. I wouldn’t recommend this to people with dry skin because even without the use of setting powder, the skin feels tight and dry as I was constantly exposed to air-conditioning. Oil control is fair, I started oiling on my T-zone about 3 hours later but that’s ok for me because I really like a bit of shine. If you have oily skin, you might like this better than I do. Also, it oxidizes rather quickly. You won’t be able to tell from the picture but in real life I looked half to one shade darker (and orangey).

I don’t hate this product but there is a need for me to “try to make it work” because of how drying it is. I love the texture though because it is so light and airy and feels like nothing on the skin. It should be better as a primer/base that you apply before your powder/liquid foundation even though the coverage is sufficient for me.

Price:

$23.90/65g

Posted on 25/10/2011, in Beauty and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. i’ve been wanting to try this after seeing it in cleo. but they only hv 1 shade :( guess will b skipping it as u mention tat it oxidise quickly. thks for the review n helping me save $$. my wallet luv u deep deep lol

    • Good thing you didn’t buy! It is not a very good product in my opinion. I wont stop using though (after all I paid for it) but I will not recommend this to anyone because it simply doesnt work as the oxidation is horrible.

  2. miss Elain-nio

    Thanks for sharing!
    I was thinking of getting it to try but I guessed I am going to skip it..
    Btw, I didn’t like the Shu base (pink) too… I think the oil control was so-so only…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

