Haul & Review: L’Oreal La Couleur Infallible Eyeshadows – Christmas 2011

For those who had been following my twitter would have known that I spotted some new shadows at L’Oreal counters and I have been super excited about it because these shadows remind me a lot of those Giorgio Armani ETKs and Chanel Illusion d’Ombres but at a fraction of the price.

These are none other than the L’Oreal La Couleur Infallible Eyeshadows that is released alongside a limited edition Colour Riche Gold collection for Christmas according to the L’Oreal BAs. There were five of these available with a couple of shimmery lipsticks. I picked up four (besides Gold Mine) as I hardly wear golds.

021 Sahara Treasure, 022 Emerald Lamé, 023 Black Onyx, 024 Bronze Goddess

These came with a black flat plastic lid to keep the shadows pressed down in place. Please note that these are actually powder shadows and they have a tendency to separate and stick to the lid if you do not keep them pressed down (which was what happened to my Sahara Treasure).

Swatches to share:

natural light

Did a quick look using Sahara Treasure:

Eyes: L’Oreal Infallible Color – Sahara Treasure on inner 2/3rds of eye, UD Alice in Wonderland palette – Mad Hatter on outer 1/3rd, Revlon Colorstay Eyeliner – Black Brown, ZA Impact Lash Volume Mascara on top/bottom lashes

I also tried googling for these shadows and I realized that different colours were released in different parts of the world with those being permanent. I did not manage to find them on drugstore.com or ulta.com unfortunately, because I would definitely like to buy all of them! These shadows are also very affordable at $14.90 apiece (in Canada it is $10.99 I believe).

These eyeshadows are incredibly pigmented and glittery and despite the glitter, they feel very velvety and smooth. They are not bouncy nor cushy because these are more like pressed pigments instead of being a cream-to-powder shadow. That is one of the advantages of this shadow – they do not dry out easily due to its powder base. I love how these go on and they blend easily just using fingers.  They wore rather well for me with a primer too and can easily be sheered out for a light wash of colour or patted on for more colour.  For the price, these are definitely great quality. The only complaint is the black plastic lids that came along with them. The little “handles” on them are too small for my fingers and I kept ending up with excess product on my fingers.

Price:

$14.90 / 3.5g

There is a current promotion at Watsons for L’Oreal products where you buy 2 and get 1 free (the lowest-priced one) so that is a great deal.

John Little also has direct 20% off for selected brands (including L’Oreal) but the Watsons deal works out cheaper.

You can check out these blogs for more swatches for the other shades available and comparisons to Giorgio Armani ETKs (if you do not know, GA is a brand under the umbrella of L’Oreal Group):

Beaut.ie

Bebe’s Beauty Blog and Review

London Makeup Girl

Please let me know if you know where I can get the other colours because I would definitely love to stock up on them! :)

Posted on 30/10/2011, in Beauty and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. wow it’s stunning! i havent checked my nearby watson store yet, anyway how much is per pot?

  2. i got tempted after seeing your swatches and i tried 2 watsons and they were totally OOS!

    Guardian has them though at usual price and they were aplenty!

    I’ve got my eyes on Black Onyx, Sahara Treasures and Bronze Goddess.

    • They are lovely aren’t they! I have heard that United Square’s Watsons has them all in stock so perhaps you can check that out, otherwise I think NTUC stocks them too but at usual price :) The 3 for 2 deals at Watsons is so attractive that I feel tempted to go back and buy more as backups >.<

  3. Hi,

    thank you for your detailed review. Causeway point watsons OOS so I bought from Metro. 10% off with my metro card.

    Can I ask if you recommend to use fingers or brushes to apply these pretties?

    Thank you!

    • Hi!

      I use fingers to apply because it enhances the colour’s intensity. Using brushes will diffuse the colour too much and it takes a little more effort to pack it on :) It does blend easily with a brush though :)

  1. Pingback: Who said that drugstore products cant be impressive? « Confession Of A Shopaholic Mama III

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

