Mini Sephora Haul: Fresh Sugar Lip Polish & Tinted Lip Treatment SPF 15

Spent a day out shopping with my mom at Sephora and I came home with some goodies of my own!

Soap & Glory Hand Food, The Righteous Butter, Fresh Sugar Lip Polish & Tinted Lip Treatment SPF15

The Soap & Glory products are in generous 50ml sizes and were actually part of a gift travel set which my mom and I shared among ourselves. I’ve had really good experiences with Soap & Glory in general (LOVE their MotherPucker lip glosses) and I can’t wait to try these out! The Righteous Butter is a body moisturizer that smells divine.

Fresh Tinted Lip Treatment – Plum, Sugar Lip Polish

I had been using Clarins Lip & Contour Exfoliator for some time now and am ready to try new things, especially when Clarins can get a little expensive in the long run. There were many raves for the Fresh lip products so I decided it’s about time to give them a try. Besides, I am very surprised that the prices of these are not too highly marked up in Sephora Singapore as compared to their American counterpart. These retail for around USD22 and were going for SGD$29 in local Sephoras.

I tried this immediately after I got home and to be frank, I feel rather disappointed with it. Granted, the sugar beads smell fantastic and the lip polish goes on smooth and easy. After some rubbing in, the sugar crystals melt into nothingness leaving my lips smooth and supple with a waxy layer on my lips which helps lock in the moisture. However, because the sugar crystals are so small, they do not feel like they are able to give my lips the badly-needed exfoliation. This scrub is also unable to completely remove all the flaky skin around my lips. This is a very gentle exfoliator that I feel can be used daily if required.

I have really dry lips that are prone to flaking and peeling especially without lip balm. As such, I have lip balms on me all the time and constantly reapply them all day long. At $29, this lip balm is a splurge (I am currently in love with drugstore lip balms like Maybelline Baby Lips and Paul Frank lip balms)! The tinted lip treatments come in a variety of shades such as Rose (sheer pink), Passion(sheer red) and Honey (a warm nude). I picked Plum because of its resemblance to Revlon Lip Butter in Fig Jam.

The first thing that struck me was that the balm is REALLY soft. So soft that the bullet is rubbing against the case even before I had started using it (from tell tale scratch marks on the sides of bullet). As such, I was very careful to twist up only a teeny millimetre of product to prevent breakage. The lip balm glided smoothly on my lips because it is SO SO SOFT. The balm also has the signature brown sugar scent that was present in their lip polish which smells truly delicious. With a light application, the plum colour is very sheer and adds only the slightest berry sheen that looks like MLBB. It also feels slipppery on the lips and it definitely feels like you are wearing a balm. Despite the slip, it stays on up to an hour or so without eating or drinking. I haven’t used this long enough to determine if it helps with the peeling but I will be sure to update if it does. To my surprise, I like this product much better than the lip polish which I feel I could have done without. The only downside is that the balm is very soft and has a tendency to break in the tube but it could also be due to the relentless heat we are subjected to today. Nonetheless, I really enjoy the use of this product and I look forward to trying out some other colours!

Posted on 10/02/2012, in Beauty and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ve been curious about Soap and Glory! Let me know what you think of those!

  2. Ooh i really want the soap and glory hand food and body butter, i’ve only heard great things about those! :)

  3. Aw I’m sorry the Lip Polish did not work out for it. It is my favourite. I have not tried the lip balm though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

