OPI Soft Shades

I know I mentioned I will stop posting, but recently because of exam stress I think it’s therapeutic to set aside an hour each day just to concentrate on changing my nail colours. Darker colours take me longer to paint (because of the post-cleaning up etc and I do not want to waste SO MUCH time on that) so I’ve been sporting lighter and sheerer shades.

I am going to feature OPI’s My Daddy’s the King and OPI’s Sweet Memories in this blog post today.

OPI My Daddy’s the King (3 coats):

Under direct sunlight:

This was from a super old collection from Princess Charming way back in 2007 but I only recently bought this. I love the texture, it’s so easy to apply and streaks were kept to a minimum. I used 3 coats to even everything out but if you are skilful, 2 coats should suffice. The colour is a light peachy pink (refer to last swatch). It is a beautiful colour but Im not too sure if it works for my skin tone. It isn’t too bad in daylight but under artificial lighting this makes my fingers look tanned and dirty 😩 Im not too sure if asians can pull off peachy nails with our yellow skin tones.

OPI Sweet Memories (4 coats):


I prefer Sweet Memories to My Daddy’s the King even though it is rather sheer even at 2 coats. I had to use 4-5 coats to achieve the intensity above. This is a very pale soft pink that can be worn at various sheer-ness depending on your preference. I hate VNL so I wanted full opacity and 4 coats was the only way to go. It was streaky but not difficult to handle by any means and by the 2nd coat most of the streaks should go away.

Posted on 30/04/2011, in Nails and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

