Swatch & Review: ZOYA Gemma

Gemma is described as a “light muted olive green with an overlay of blue and violet duochrome shimmer”… And I’d say,the description is fairly accurate! It is also a little dusky in my opinion and looks like it has some grey undertones.

ZOYA Gemma (3coats):

Color Family: Greens

Finish: Duo Tone Metallic

Intensity: 4 (1=sheer, 5=opaque)

Tone: Cool

Original Collection: Intimate

You can see the flashes of violet/blue here:

With flash:

Click to see the shimmers!!

My index finger looks bumpy because of the Orly Nail Rescue 😩 Anyway. I apologize for the bad quality of the pictures, it’s a rainy morning and there isn’t enough sunlight.

The formula for ZOYA polishes is superb. I did experience a bad bottle that was goopy, thick and hard to spread evenly (AM LOOKING AT YOU, INDIGO!!) but the others that I had used are great and tops in terms of formulae. Gemma is no exception. 2 coats will suffice for a total opaque coverage, but I used 3 because I noticed a bald spot on one of my nails (I was just being impatient lol) and therefore went on using a 3rd coat on all my fingers.

Gemma appears as a dusty olive on me, and has a murky undertone that reminds me of seawater. It is not that sort of a crisp olive if you ask me, but I like it all the same because I find this works better on me than other greens (greens/limes make my skin looks lobster red). I also love the tiny brush (if I hadn’t mentioned this before), it works in getting the polish within the nail without flooding my cuticles, unlike OPI’s Prowide brush (which I have a love-hate relationship with).

Once again, Zoya does not disappoint. I am so full of love for this brand now.

Posted on 21/05/2011, in Beauty, Nails and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love it, it looks like Chanel Khaki Vert w/o the duochrome. can’t wait for the spree!

Leave a Reply

