Drugstore Series: Milani Liquif’eye Metallic Eyeliner Pencil – Brown

I am going to do a Drugstore Series where I will feature, swatch and review drugstore products for the benefit of readers. I am a lover of counter AND drugstore makeup as I believe that high prices do not mean better quality and vice versa. As an example, I’ve used ZA 2way foundations for over 6 years already and even though I’ve strayed couple of times, I ended up going back to it anyway because honestly, it’s the BEST I’ve ever used.

Today, I will be featuring the Milani Liquif’Eye Metallic Eyeliner Pencil. This is a review that I had promised for ages but never had the opportunity to.

Milani Liquif’eye in Brown

According to Milani, the Liquif’Eye Metallic Eyeliner Pencil is an “extremely smooth eye pencil with the application and feel of a liquid liner that delivers true color payoff, in a metallic finish with a long-lasting wear.”

Extremely smooth? Check. Application and feel of a liquid liner? Hmm not so much but lasts as long as one. True colour payoff? Check. Metallic finish? Not really. Long-lasting wear? Absolutely! What can I say, the description is rather accurate.

That is just one coat and you can see how rich and pigmented the liner is.

I have it on my eyes today (and also for my past few posts where I alternate between black and brown (approx 6 hours of wear):

What I love:

  • creamy (no tugging at eyelids)
  • pigmented
  • smudge-proof, no feathering (no panda eyes at the end of the day)
  • long-wearing (removes only when you are ready to remove it – no need for touch ups)
  • affordable

What I hate:

  • requires frequent sharpening due to creaminess (tip becomes blunt fast)
  • gets used up quickly (see above)
  • smudges when applied on upper waterline, not so much on lower waterline
  • tip breaks easily (due to its creamy formula)
  • not available in Singapore

Verdict:

If you are a lover of Urban Decay’s 24/7 liner especially in Bourbon/Zero, this is a worthwhile dupe. It’s half of the price of UD but performs better in my opinion. As you can see from my pictures, the liner is highly pigmented and if you sharpen the tip well, you can create a very nice defined wing which is comparable to how my Bobbi Brown gel liner looks. I don’t use liquid eyeliners alone so I can’t vouch for the application.

As for application on the waterlines, I find that it tends to smudge if I tightline my upper lashline but it works great on the lower waterlines. That said, this makes a great water-liner because it goes on super smooth. This eyeliner also becomes budge-proof after setting (give it a minute) and it doesn’t rub away even if I tried to. Did not bother to include a picture after rubbing because there is no difference 😛

I have the black liner on my waterlines in this post.

Buy this if:

You are a beginner at eye lining or make up in general. I’m hopeless at eye-lining but this pencil makes it a very easy and enjoyable process (though I do make mistakes now and then). Or if you are on the look out for a convenient, smudge-proof, transfer-resistant, pigmented and creamy eye liner. That’s a mouthful, but it truly does what it claims to do.

Do not buy if:

There is NO reason why you shouldn’t get this, the cons really overwrite the pros 😉

Price:

USD7.99/1.2g on Cherryculture (this is the only online website that I know carries Milani)

Posted on 18/07/2011, in Beauty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. the eyeliner sound amazing!! y sg dun hv!! *wail*

Leave a Reply

