Chanel Fall 2011: Illusion D’ Ombres

I finally picked up the Chanel Illusion D’Ombres Long Wear Luminous Eyeshadows from the latest Fall Collection 2011 some time during the weekends! I got two out of the six available since that’s all my budget allows:(

I love the Chanel boxes 😀

Illusoire & Mirifique

They came housed in sturdy heavy glass pots with a plastic screw on caps that have the Chanel double-Cs embossed in white.

83 Illusoire

83 Illusoire is a purple shimmer with a lot of brown undertones in it. It looks nice as a neutral wash of colour on the lids. Super pretty and not OTT for the office or school.

85 Mirifique

85 Mirifique is an intense black with a complex myriad of multidimensional shimmers which makes it such a joy to swatch and look at 🙂

Chanel describes them as “intensely shimmering long-wear eyeshadow offers true versatility. An innovative gel texture that is both soft and cushiony allows it to be worn as eyeshadow or eyeliner. Includes a specially designed shadow/liner brush, developed specifically for this unique formula.”

Swatched:

One swipe, lightly blended

Seriously, HOW GORGEOUS IS THAT?

The texture is amazing. It feels mousse-like, almost similar to Jill Stuart Eye Jellies but while the JS are more jelly-like, the Chanel ones feel soft yet pliable… Like play-doh for adults 😉

Did a very quick and simple day look with Illusoire:

I patted on Illusoire with a ring finger and feathered out the edges so as to minimize any harsh lines. It took me about 2-3 layers before I achieved desired intensity but less is more because it tends to flake if you put on too much at once. Then I blended out the edges once more with MAC 217 and MAC Shroom eyeshadow up to the brow bone to keep the look clean. Eyes were lined lightlywith Bobbi Brown Gel Liner in Caviar Ink. I used a UDPP as a base to prevent any creasing and this held up well for about 4-5 hours with no signs of wear.

Illusoire is very versatile in my opinion, for the shadows aren’t too metallic or overly shimmery for the day time. It can also be layered on for more intensity for a night out.

I am honestly quite pleased with these shadows but it can be a pricey investment. However, considering the multiple wears you can get out them, I would say they are definitely well worth it.

Retail Price:

SGD52/4g (0.14oz) – As a guideline, MAC Paint Pots are 5g (0.17oz) each

Priscilla from dearshopaholic had kindly informed that the Chanel Illusion D’Ombre eyeshadows are going for $39.50 at Changi Airport DFS (after Immigration). It’s so much more worthwhile to stock up if you are travelling!

Posted on 08/08/2011, in Beauty and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Pretty! Very, very pretty. I definitely want Mirifique.

  2. Hi eileen,
    The mirifique is so versatile. I usually use it as an eyeliner too 🙂

  3. Thanks for the tip-off babe! *goes off to plan holiday*

    I like Emerveille and Epatant~ Will probably pink up Illusoire but I have pretty similar purple shades.. *glups*

  4. $39.50 at airport?! That so affordable!
    I going to pick them up end of the month like that, REN!

    Let me know if you wanna pick more colours yah! 🙂

  5. Gorgeous, your eye shots are amazing!
    Me too, I am head over heels with these eyeshadows. I need to get more shades..especially mirifique and epatant!

Leave a Reply

